Gambhir-Sehwag Magic Wins it for Delhi

Posted on Apr 4 2014 - 8:07pm by IBC News

Gautam Gambhir led from the front with a breezy unbeaten 75 as Delhi cruised to a nine-wicket win over Haryana to record their fourth straight victory in a North Zone leg match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, Friday.

Set a target of 141 runs by Haryana, star pair of Gambhir and Virender Sehwag (49) once again sizzled with the bat for Delhi, putting on a 96-ball 121-run stand for the opening wicket to set the platform for the win here.

While Sehwag’s was an unusually sedate knock, Gambhir was at his attacking best.

Gambhir’s runs came off 53 balls during which he struck seven boundaries and three sixes.

Sehwag, on the other hand, played second fiddle and hit just three fours and one six during his 50-ball knock.

Sehwag was the lone Delhi wicket to fall, bowled by right-arm pacer Harshal Patel in the 16th over.

After Sehwag’s dismissal, Gambhir and Unmukt Chand (7 not out) ensured the win for Delhi with 15 balls to spare without any further damage.

Earlier, Haryana rode on half centuries from opener Avi Barot (51 off 42) and Guntashveer Singh (64 off 49) to post 140 for seven after opting to bat.

Apart from Barot and Guntashveer, no other Haryana batsmen could manage double digit scores.

The duo scored 103 runs for the second wicket to propel Haryana to the modest score.

The lanky Ishant Sharma was the pick of the bowlers for Delhi with figures of four for nine from his quota of four overs.

Meanwhile, in another North Zone leg match Himachal Pradesh defeated Jammu and Kashmir by 17 runs at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali to register their second win in the tournament.

Sent in to bat, Himachal could only muster 127 for eight before coming out with am impressive bowling display to bundle out J&K for 110 in 19.3 overs.

Rishi Dhawan top-scored for Himachal with 44 off 40 balls. For J&K, left-arm spinner Waseem Raza (3/21) scalped three wickets while skipper Parveez Rasool (2/10) picked up two.

Chasing the paltry target, J&K batsmen crumbled in front of the pace trio of Akshay Chauhan (4/16), Rishi Dhawan (2/24) and Vikramjeet Malik (2/28) to slump to their fourth consecutive defeat in the event.

Abid Nabi (39) and Pranav Gupta (28) provided some sort of resistance for J&K but it was not enought to sail them home.

Brief Scores:

Haryana vs Delhi in Chandigarh

Haryana: 140 for seven in 20 overs (Guntashveer Singh 64, Avi Barot 51; Ishant Sharma 4/9).

Delhi: 142 for one in 17.3 overs (Gautam Gambhir 75 not out, Virender Sehwag 49; Harshal Patel 1/32).

Himachal Pradesh vs Jammu and Kashmir in Mohali:

Himachal Pradesh: 127 for eight in 20 overs (Rishi Dhawan 44; Waseem Raza 3/21).

J&K: 110 all out in 19.3 overs (Abid Nabi 39, Pranav Gupta 28; Akshay Chauhan 4/16).